Electronics I for ECE

Instructor: James K Beard, Ph. D.

Rowan Hall 238A

Subject: ECE-Electrical Engineering

CRN: 20460

Course ID: ECE 09-311 1

Section: 1

Place and Time: Rowan Hall 239Tue, Class Tu/Thu 10:50 AM to 12:05 PM

Rowan Hall 239

LAB Fri 08:00 AM to 10:40 AM

Rowan Hall 204/206

Text: Microelectronics Circuits and Devices, Second Edition, Mark N. Horenstein, Prentice-Hall (1995)

ISBN 0-13-701335-3

Course Schedule

First week, class Tuesday and Thursday.

Second week, class Tuesday, lab Friday.

Repeat as appropriate.

Final Examination

Tuesday, May 1, 12:30 PM to 2:30 PM in Rowan Hall 239.

Back to Main Page

 

 

Spring 2007 Calendar

Click here for a calendar of course and lab days for Spring 2007 as a 1-page PDF file.

Grading Policy

*      Quiz 1: 25%

*      Quiz 2: 25%

*      Final Examination: 25%

*      Homework: 5%

*      Lab Reports: 10%

*      Final Report on Term Project: 5%

*      Attendance and Participation: 5%

Course Materials and Assignments

Report Writing Guide

Click here for a unified guide to writing lab reports and term reports. Lab Reports are to be soft copy only (computer files, not paper copies). Send them by e-mail to Dr. Beard at no_spam_jkbeard@jameskbeard.com, . Do not use large file formats such as uncompressed BMP for graphics; use a platform-independent compressed form such as JPEG, or you will find it difficult to email your reports and your grades will be delayed.

 

Your term project will require a full report. The difference between this report and your lab reports is that this report will cover all the operations that you did on your term project, and the introduction will be an executive summary instead of a short overview and summary. Length should be about ten pages. The final report is due on Friday, April 20.

Due Dates

All homework and lab reports are due one week from the date of assignment. All homework assignments will be posted on this page. Late homework will not be accepted. Late lab reports will not be accepted. The term report is due when you

Classes

*      Week 1

*      Tuesday, January 16, Chapter 1

*      Homework: Page 9, Exercises 1.1, 1.5; Page 13, Exercise 1.12

*      Read Chapter 1

*      Thursday, January 18, Chapter 1

*      Homework: Page 28, problems 1.1, 1.3, 1.7

*      Read Chapter 2

*      Week 2

*      Tuesday, January 23, Chapter 2

*      Friday, January 26, Lab 1. Lab report instructions follow the lab description.

*      Week 3

*      Tuesday, January 30, Chapter 2

*      Homework:

        Chapter 1, problems on pages 28-36: 1.37, 1.51, 1.65 (FET transistor simplified circuits), 1.99

        Chapter 2, problems on pages 87-105: 2.6, 2.7 (Norton equivalent circuit for output of op-amp), 2.19

*      Reading: Please read through the end of Chapter 2.

*      Thursday, February 1, Chapter 2

*      Week 4

*      Tuesday, February 6, Chapter 2

*      Friday, February 9, Lab 2. See link above for lab report guidelines.

*      Week 5

*      Tuesday, February 13, Chapter 2

*      Thursday, February 15, Chapter 3

*      Homework: Chapter 2, problems on pages 87-105: 2.20 (hard), 2.23 (trick, but simple), 2.26, 2.57, 2.69, 2.83, 2.97

*      Reading: Remainder of Chapter 2; Chapter 3 through page 134

*      Week 6

*      Tuesday, February 20, Chapter 3

*      Homework: Chapter 3, problems on pages 158-169: 3.1 (use Equations (3.1) and (3.2) on page 108 to model the square-law device), 3.21 (the diode v-i characteristic is Figure 3.18 on page 120), 3.44, 3.62 (the Zener v-i characteristic is Figure 3.47 on page 147), 3.85

*      Friday, February 23, Lab 3, Two Op-Amp Differential Amplifier; Diode v-i Curve

*      Week 7

*      Tuesday, February 27, Basic Amplifiers

*      Thursday, March 1, Biasing

*      Read Chapter 7, pages 389 through 406

*      Friday, March 2, QUIZ 1 (Mid-Term)

*      Week 8

*      Tuesday, March 6, Chapter Biasing (Continued)

*      Read Chapter 7, pages 406 through 412

*      Friday, March 9, Lab 4

*      Week 9, Tuesday, March 13 and Thursday, March 15, SPRING BREAK

*      Week 10

*      Tuesday, March 20, Care, feeding, limitations, and usage of MOSFETs

*      Read Chapter 7, pages 412 through 440.

*      Friday, March 23, Lab 5

*      Week 11

*      Tuesday, March 28, MOSFETs in linear operation (inverter)

*      Read Chapter 7, pages 440 through 458.

*      Problems, pp 458-474; do 7.2, 7.9, 7.14

*      Thursday, March 30, MOSFETs in switching operation (H-bridge)

*      Week 12

*      Tuesday, April 3, Chapter 7, Care, feeding, limitations, and usage of BJTs

*      Chapter 5 problems pages 295-310; problem 5.2, problem 5.3, problem 5.6 (do the plot on engineering paper).

*      Friday, April 6, GOOD FRIDAY

*      Week 13

*      Tuesday, April 10, BJTs in linear amplifiers

*      Thursday, April 12, BJTs in differential amplifiers

*      Week 14

*      Tuesday, April 17, BJT biasing, operating regions and load lines

*      BJT and MOSFET (Chapter 5) problems pages 295-310; Problems 5.6 (note that Fig. 5.5 is on page 237), 5.15, 5.16

*      Friday, April 20, Lab 6: Biometric Indicator, Hazardous Vapors

*      Week 15

*      Tuesday, April 24, Simple BJT Utility Circuit: an elementary current source

*      Thursday, April 26, Stray capacitances and inductances, their effect on frequency responses, and elementary stability criteria.

*      Load Line Exercise with input-output characteristic exercise.

*      Monday, April 30, Special Study Session, 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM in Rowan Hall 204/206.

*      Tuesday, May 1, FINAL EXAMINATION, 12:30 PM to 2:30 PM in Rowan Hall 239, Final Report on Term Project due